Campus University Name/suburb
Main Queensland University of Technology Gardens Point
Main University of Queensland St Lucia
Satellite Australian Catholic University ACU Brisbane
Satellite CQUniversity CQU Brisbane
Satellite Griffith University Mt Gravatt
Satellite Griffith University Nathan
Satellite Griffith University South Bank
Satellite Queensland University of Technology Kelvin Grove
Satellite Torrens University Australia Fortitude Valley
Satellite University of Queensland Herston
Brisbane River and cityscape.
Brisbane River and cityscape

Universities in Brisbane

As the list shows, while Brisbane is home to just 2 unis, it contains 10 campuses in total from 6 Australian universities.

  • Queensland University of Technology (QUT) and the University of Queensland (UQ) are large Brisbane-based universities.
  • Both unis occupy central locations, with QUT in the city and UQ in a nearby suburb.
  • The 2 Brisbane universities teach a combined 95,000 students, including 19,000 from abroad.
  • Griffith University also has a strong presence in the Brisbane CBD and suburbs. Its main campus is on the Gold Coast however.

Brisbane is an attractive study destination. It has a sub-tropical climate, with mild winters and warm summers. The city manages to maintain a relaxed vibe while offering all the services of a major city.