CampusUniversityCity or TownName
MainAustralian Catholic UniversitySydneyNorth Sydney
MainCharles Sturt UniversityWagga Wagga
MainMacquarie UniversitySydneyNorth Ryde
MainSouthern Cross UniversityLismore
MainUniversity of New EnglandArmidale
MainUniversity of New South WalesSydneyKensington
MainUniversity of NewcastleNewcastleCallaghan
MainUniversity of SydneySydneyCamperdown/Darlington
MainUniversity of Technology SydneySydneyCity
MainUniversity of WollongongWollongong
MainWestern Sydney UniversitySydneyParramatta
SatelliteAustralian Catholic UniversitySydneyStrathfield
SatelliteAustralian National UniversityCoonabarabranSiding Spring Observatory
SatelliteAustralian National UniversityShoalhavenKioloa Coast Campus
SatelliteCharles Darwin UniversitySydney
SatelliteCharles Sturt UniversityBathurst
SatelliteCharles Sturt UniversityDubbo
SatelliteCharles Sturt UniversityGoulburn
SatelliteCharles Sturt UniversityOrange
SatelliteCharles Sturt UniversityParramatta
SatelliteCharles Sturt UniversityPort Macquarie
SatelliteCurtin UniversitySydney
SatelliteLa Trobe UniversitySydney
SatelliteSouthern Cross UniversityCoffs Habour
SatelliteTorrens University AustraliaSydneyUltimo
SatelliteTorrens University AustraliaSydneyThe Rocks
SatelliteUniversity of New EnglandSydneyParramatta
SatelliteUniversity of New South WalesSydneyPaddington
SatelliteUniversity of NewcastleCentral CoastOurimbah
SatelliteUniversity of NewcastleNewcastleCity
SatelliteUniversity of NewcastlePort Macquarie
SatelliteUniversity of NewcastleSydney
SatelliteUniversity of Notre Dame AustraliaSydney
SatelliteUniversity of SydneySydneyBurren Street
SatelliteUniversity of SydneySydneyCamden
SatelliteUniversity of SydneySydneyCumberland
SatelliteUniversity of SydneySydneyMallett Street
SatelliteUniversity of SydneySydneyRozelle
SatelliteUniversity of SydneySydneySurry Hills
SatelliteUniversity of SydneySydneyMusic Conservatorium
SatelliteUniversity of TasmaniaSydney
SatelliteUniversity of Technology SydneySydneyKuring-gai
SatelliteUniversity of WollongongBatemans Bay
SatelliteUniversity of WollongongBega
SatelliteUniversity of WollongongMoss Vale
SatelliteUniversity of WollongongNowra
SatelliteUniversity of WollongongSydneyCBD
SatelliteUniversity of WollongongSydneySouthern (Loftus)
SatelliteVictoria UniversitySydney
SatelliteWestern Sydney UniversitySydneyBankstown
SatelliteWestern Sydney UniversitySydneyCampbelltown
SatelliteWestern Sydney UniversitySydneyHawkesbury
SatelliteWestern Sydney UniversitySydneyLithgow
SatelliteWestern Sydney UniversitySydneyNirimba (Blacktown)
SatelliteWestern Sydney UniversitySydneyPenrith
Port Macquarie, NSW
Port Macquarie

Universities in NSW

As well as 6 Sydney-based universities, NSW has Charles Sturt University, Southern Cross University, University of New England, University of Newcastle and University of Wollongong.

  • The universities based outside Sydney serve other cities and regional centres in NSW. Most also have a Sydney campus.
  • Collectively, NSW universities teach 390,000 students, including 78,000 from overseas.
  • NSW also has campuses of 8 other Australian universities. As the list shows, NSW has 56 campuses in total.

While Sydney dominates university education in New South Wales, students around the state have good access to courses.

  • Charles Sturt University alone has 7 campuses in regional centres across NSW.