CampusUniversityCity or TownName
MainBond UniversityGold CoastRobina
MainGriffith UniversityGold Coast
MainJames Cook UniversityTownsville
MainQueensland University of TechnologyBrisbaneGardens Point
MainUniversity of QueenslandBrisbaneSt Lucia
MainUniversity of Southern QueenslandToowoomba
MainUniversity of the Sunshine CoastSunshine CoastSippy Downs
SatelliteAustralian Catholic UniversityBrisbaneACU Brisbane
SatelliteCQUniversityBrisbaneCQU Brisbane
SatelliteGriffith UniversityBrisbaneMt Gravatt
SatelliteGriffith UniversityBrisbaneNathan
SatelliteGriffith UniversityBrisbaneSouth Bank
SatelliteGriffith UniversityLogan
SatelliteJames Cook UniversityCairns
SatelliteQueensland University of TechnologyBrisbaneKelvin Grove
SatelliteQueensland University of TechnologyCaboolture
SatelliteSouthern Cross UniversityGold Coast
SatelliteTorrens University AustraliaBrisbaneFortitude Valley
SatelliteUniversity of QueenslandBrisbaneHerston
SatelliteUniversity of QueenslandGatton
SatelliteUniversity of QueenslandIpswich
SatelliteUniversity of Southern QueenslandFraser Coast
SatelliteUniversity of Southern QueenslandSpringfield
Gold Coast City.
Gold Coast City

Universities in Queensland

As the list and map show, most of Queensland's 8 universities are based in the south-east corner of the state.

  • 5 of the 8 universities are based on the coastal strip from the Sunshine Coast (University of the Sunshine Coast), through to the Brisbane universities, and further down to the Gold Coast (Bond University and Griffith University).

Queensland has 3 regional universities to help cover its vast expanses: James Cook University in the north (ii) CQUniversity in the central region and (iii) University of Southern Queensland in the south. All 3 unis have multiple campuses and large distance learning programs.

Collectively, Queensland universities teach 217,000 students, including 45,000 from abroad. QLD has a total of 31 Australian university campuses.